Hiding My Bible

I had an interesting thing happen to me while tutoring in a public library.  A homeless man quickly broke the library’s silence by yelling, “Where is my book on evolution?  Who took it?”  The librarians were incredibly fearful of this man’s hostile attitude.  I noticed from the corner of my eye that he had spotted my Bible on the desk and I quickly slid a book over my Bible because I feared that he would hurt me.  I did not feel safe at all and leaving the library would make me stick out like a sore thumb.  Never in my life had I feared reading my Bible in a public setting.

Looking back, I am ashamed that I hid my Bible, especially when we live in a country in which we are free to read the Bible and express our religious views.  Even our currency declares, “ In God We Trust.”

After the fear subsided, I remembered a very powerful verse, “Greater is He that is in me than he that is in this world.” 1 John 4:4.  Why didn’t I remember that scripture when I needed it the most?

Have you ever been in a situation in which fear kept you from learning or sharing about God?  What fear did you experience?  Were you able to fix the situation later?  Do you have any advice for those of us desire to share about Christ but are afraid of the consequences? I would love to learn from you!

Leave a Reply

