Our New Hairy Addition to Our Family

In March, Garrett and I decided to celebrate our two-year anniversary by going to Olive Garden up in Orange, a spot we used to go to when dating. Remember, that calling I felt for getting Stastny? Well, it happened again.  Garrett had been talking about wanting another dog to add to our family and for a while I was not too keen on the idea. God shifted my heart while we drove to Olive Garden.  I asked Garrett if he would like to take a detour and visit the old pet store we used to go to and play with the dogs who are lonely. Yes, I had an idea of what I was getting myself into…

It was love at first sight.  Garrett saw this funny looking puppy who won him over the moment he began to play with her. It didn’t take long for my heart to melt as well. Like most good things, there were some obstacles in our way of bundling her up and taking her home. First, they would not hold her overnight. Second, she cost a pretty penny. Third, we did not know if our dog trainer would approve of her getting along with Stastny. Lastly, we didn’t know if Stasnty would want a sister. We had decided to pray in four fleeces if it be God’s will for us to get her: the finances work out, our dog trainer letting us know that the puppy would be okay with Stasny, our fury friend to be there the next day, and for Stastny to take to her.

Drum roll please…our dog trainer (amazing), Vladae Roytapel, called us back within 5 minutes on a Friday night and gave us a green light. God provided for us financially. Two fleeces down, two to go. We couldn’t sleep at all that night. Thoughts kept buzzing in our heads, worrying about whether she was still there and if she would be a good match with Stastny? Should we have consulted our parents first?

We got up at the unheard of hour of 7 am on a Saturday morning and packed up Stastny and a few puppy items on a mission that would forever change our lives. Our hearts were racing faster than the cars on the freeway. We kept wondering if we were too late. Finally, we got there! Part one of the mission was accomplished. We were there early waiting for the pet store to open. When the doors opened and we raced to the back where she had been the night before. Were we too late? NO! She was there. Only one more fleece to go, but this was a big one, would Stastny and our fury friend get along. Stastny and the little one were placed in a room together with a lot of toys. The little one kept jumping on her and biting her. Stastny gently wrestled with her and it was there that their lifelong friendship began. Mission accomplished!

The funny part was, that Garrett and I always consult our parents before making big decisions, but in this case we decided to be rebels  and make the decision on our own. Our parents immediately took to our little one, named Isabel, which means God’s promise. We felt the name was fitting because she was our 2nd year anniversary gift to one another and proof of God’s promise to us.

8 thoughts on “Our New Hairy Addition to Our Family

  1. Jess,
    It was so nice you to come down to our house and welcome in our new addition! I remember seeing Jewels for the first time too! Our babies are growing up way too fast. Lol.

  2. I loved meeting Isabel in March. Such a cutie pie! Lots of fun & very joyful! Enjoy your new addition. I can’t wait to see your lovely dogs & of course you, hopefully soon!

  3. Wow! What a beautiful story of drawing closer to God and to the body of Christ. I am looking forward to hearing a lot more about your walk with God. Haley, your walk with God is a powerful testimony. Everything you write on this blog matters.

  4. I wrote a blog about it. I have a few photos. I was baptized, full immersion, in water. I do not have family so that might be the hardest part because people invited their families. I realized I would meet new people and there are all kinds of families. A friend and a pastor went into the water with me. I invited six people. I had wanted to do it for a while. I was moving my home, twice now, and a feeling came over me like I better be baptized before doing anything else in my life, do it now kind of a feeling, no matter that I could not have a celebration after or anything else, that nothing could be as important as that moment. I was really excited after my baptism, like I did not want everyone to go home. I do not feel far from God, but when I was baptized, i felt like I really made a public commitment in every way. The personal commitment with God and Jesus has always felt special, even more so as I age. Many people described it as accpeting Jesus fully into my life. I was invited to take classes before I was baptized and I did. In the present I work on developing my private time with God, which some people call prayer time or meditation, focusing on the Word. I think it is going well. It is nice to share it.

  5. Haley,
    My prayers go out to you in terms of doing your best to “make it”. It seems like all of us have been there at one point in our lives. I am proud of you! You inspire all of us to take a step closer to God. What was it like to be baptized? I was baptized in the Holy Spirit, but I am still waiting to be baptized in water.

  6. I have been experiencing tough times, especially last month and this month. Feeling like I just need to make it until I am paid on Saturday. However, on the faith front, I was recently baptized as an adult (I was also baptized as a baby) and joined Saddleback Church in Lake Forest after several years of exploring various church communities. Thank you for asking!

Leave a Reply

