Day 8-The Battle Begins

I am ashamed to write this piece, but if it speaks to at least one of your hearts, it is worth it. I grew up with the mindset that stuff equals happiness. My parents gave me the best childhood possible with lots of stuff. I did not think anything of it, until my husband and I came back from our honeymoon. All of a sudden, within a matter of months, I developed a poverty mindset. I was in shock after our first grocery trip. It seemed like the smallest purchases were pretty darn expensive. I foolishly questioned how we would make it on a single income.

I found myself complaining about finances, bills, and extra expenses. I figured it was good to vent all my frustrations and hold nothing back. I quickly learned that there are important times in our lives when holding things back makes our marriage that much stronger. My complaining shortly thereafter was accompanied by fear. I had no idea how we would manage on a single income, especially after a very intense surgery I had in June. My fear began to squash my faith. I was right where the enemy wanted me, forgetting the power of God’s promise and His provision in our lives.

Beloved,

I pray for your finances to not control you or to be a determining factor in God’s love for you. If only you knew of all the blessings He has in store for you: press on and keep

…Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” -Philippians 3:13-14

 

4 thoughts on “Day 8-The Battle Begins

  1. God allows me happiness in a life of poverty. I am also ashamed to admit that if I actually had lots of money, that I would ignore Him more. Thank you for reminding me that money does NOT equal happiness.

  2. Thanks for quoting from Philippians. Just did a word study and discovered that there is no mention of “heaven” or “heavanward” in the original Greek. It’s more like “I press on toward the upward call of God”. To my mind, this gives the passage a less other-worldly, more this-worldly focus as we strive upward daily in following God’s call.

  3. Hi Michelle… my biggest fear going into the full-time ministry was being a single woman living by faith. I left a lucrative career in aerospace with a wonderful salary. I can honestly say that after 12 years as a home-based missionary, God has provided every need! Sometimes I look back on that time when I had so much disposable income and I wonder “where did it all go?” We can truly learn to live joyously and abundantly on less in a society that dictates more-more-more. My God shall supply ALL MY NEEDS according to HIS RICHES in glory! Amen and Amen :-))… see you on Monday at the Pageant!!!

  4. I have been sooooo sick lately for I have had phnewmonia just shy of having a sis grow on my lungs the Dr stated that if I would have weighted two days longer and another stated 1/2 hour that I would have been pushing up daisys. At different points it felt that someone was boxing me in my lungs and ribs. God is good even under exatream sickness and termoill rest in the presence for he is the good sheapard and you will find rest.
    When you become frustraithted with some for doing pain to you remember how much God loves you and the patients he has given you, love and relationship is the key to being a Christian in obedience!

Leave a Reply

