Day Three-Losing an Argument

The other day, I got into a rather heated spiritual conversation. I could not understand how people who call themselves Christians could so easily deny God’s love. I decided to take it upon myself to point out their faulty thinking by using scripture. I think you can see where this is going. We ended up leaving frustrated and depleted. In hoping to get some type of affirmation, I called a pastor who did not have any problem speaking the truth to me. She asked, “Did you leave angry?” and I replied, “Of course, and I still am. I don’t like what they said because it was uncalled for.” She stopped me and said, “You lost the battle the moment you became angry. The enemy won this battle.” It took me a little while to realize that she was right. She then took it a step further and asked me, “What would have happened if a non-Christian was in the room? What would your example have been?”

Not all lessons are easy to learn, especially this one. I am very blessed that the argument happened because God used it to show me how to speak not argue through Him.

“Be on guard. Stand true to what you believe. Be courageous. Be strong. And everything you do must be done in love.”1 Corinthians 6:13-14

One thought on “Day Three-Losing an Argument

  1. That is why the Bible tells us, that all things work together for good, to them that love God, and to those who are the called according to His purpose. I’m sure you would not have wanted the situation to turn out the way it did, and at some point, yes Satan won the battle, but in the end, you won the war. What Satan meant for bad, you learned something from that experience, which meant God worked it for your good. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

