Praying for the Big and Small Things in Life

When I asked for a dear friend of mine to pray for my flat tire, she gave me an upset look and told me, “God does not have time to worry about the small things in life. He is much too busy.”

Garrett and I pray for just about anything from putting in a new rose to praying for family and friends. We feel like prayer is a blessing and we honored to have God be a part of all the big and small things in our lives.

Questions: 

1. Do you agree with what my friend said in that God is too busy to deal with the small things in your life?

2. How often do you come to the Lord in prayer?

3. Is there anything you are not comfortable praying to the Lord for?

7 thoughts on “Praying for the Big and Small Things in Life

  1. I haven’t been praying much lately because I’ve been allowing myself to get distracted by the needs of others. To me there is no such thing as too busy to pray. Prayer can be a silent thought; so until God takes away our ability to think, we have more than ample opportunity to pray.

    To L,
    I agree with Mish; I think it’s awesome how you pray when driving. How cool is it to know that there’s someone out there who cares enough about others to pray instead of listening to the radio, or something else.

  2. Haley,
    It is awesome to see how God has brought you closer to Him. I love the image of you praying for someone with your arms full of books and I admire your tender and compassionate heart because you have an incredible impact on the lives around you!

  3. L,
    L,
    I like how you pray to God while you are driving because I find that it is difficult to pray for everyone in one sitting. Keep up the amazing work!!

  4. Lawrence,
    I completely agree with you! Why do you think you haven’t been praying as much as before? What advice do you have for those who desire to have prayer relationship with God, but are too busy?

  5. I think God WANTS to be apart of the small things (as well as the big). Think about it this way; many times it’s the small things that lead to the big. I haven’t been praying as often as I should but thanks for the reminder. We should all feel comfortable bringing anything to Him.

    I mean really; He knows our needs anyway. When we bring it to Him we also allow Him to teach us things. “Give a man a fish you feed him for a day; teach a man to fish he can feed himself for a lifetime.”

  6. Misha,

    I think a flat tire can be scary, especially for women since some of us may not be physically eqipped to change them (me too). And nothing is ever too small. I am always praying when I drive, for traffic, for everything I can think about that needed a prayer.

    L

  7. 1. I politely disagree with your friend. Some people only turn to God in times of trouble or for the big decisions. I do not think anything is too small for God. When I taught very young children in a private school, they prayed for what I might view are small intentions. Those are some of my most precious memories. Like, once students prayed that I would learn to draw better smiley faces. At the same time, I was praying that my parents would get back together and live in the same home and not eight hours apart. I thought my needs were greater. Now I think, who am I to judge? Children can be so cute. God hears all.

    2. How often do I turn to the Lord in prayer? Like per hour? It is not about how often, but I find myself turning to the Lord more frequently, and often less for myself. When I started praying, it was usually about me or someone I knew who was in trouble. I find myself thanking God more, too.

    3. I might and do pray to the Lord for about anything. I am in the process of reconfiguring the vision for my life at the moment, where I want to be. Who I want to be. Somewhere along the way I have lost my vision, then I pray and people are calling me and coming out of the woodwork it feels, overwhelming me with love, when at times I have felt so absolutely alone. How I pray has changed over time. I might feel more comfortable today praying with others when at first that felt awkward. I will pray with someone almost anywhere these days. I prayed in a parking lot with all of my books in my hands and arms with someone recently. I have prayed in bathrooms and all kinds of places. I used to pray for something to happen. When in high school, I prayed for a date to something with someone in particular, without my asking this young man. It did not happen. I was sad. Then on Christmas Even, he showed up at the same service with his family, and I think God gave me that moment. Now I do like the title of your blog, walk with God, live the life, and if it is meant to be, it will. I might ask for say, a relationship in my life, but not name anyone in particular, even if I have some interest in someone. I am more trusting today than I once was, and relieved. God can do things in an instant what might take me a lifetime, and I have faith, so I turn to Him. OK, I am also human and sometimes make mistakes, but I feel better and inspired with God, so yes, I pray, for anything.

    I continued to think of these songs as I wrote this reply. OK to delete if needed. Just copied a link to one, Day by Day from Godspell.

Leave a Reply

