A Special Gift for the Grump

I have not been feeling well at all. Physically, I feel useless, and emotionally, I feel drained. Poor Garrett. I truly believe that I have the best husband in the world because he has gone out of his way to comfort me and lift me up. For example, when I was unable to sleep because of the pain, Garrett never became upset with me. Instead, he held me and prayed for my pain to go away.

Last week, I was having one of those days when nothing seemed to go right. I was in a lot of pain and a grump, a very bad combination. Garrett came home with a funny smile on his face and told me that he had a special surprise for me, but that I would have to wait to see it until he called me into his office. As I waited, I questioned why on earth would he buy me, the grump, something special. My negative thoughts were quickly interrupted by Garrett’s cheerful voice calling me into the room. He set up the movie “Fletch Lives” and handed me a very colorful margarita glass filled with my favorite jelly beans (Belly Flops).

Garrett knew what would cheer me up. I always joke with Garrett and tell him that he should be glad that I am not a high maintenance wife. Tonight’s demonstration of love reminded me of how special the little gifts in life are.

Questions:

1. How has a gift from your spouse cheered you up?

2. What made the gift special?

3. How do you demonstrate love to you spouse?

**Please note that this was written about a month ago**

2 thoughts on “A Special Gift for the Grump

  1. 126:1 A song of ascents. When the LORD brought back the captives to Zion, we were like men who dreamed.
    2 Our mouths were filled with LAUGHTER, our tongues with songs of JOY. Then it was said among the nations, “The LORD has done great things for them.”
    3 The LORD has done great things for us, and we are filled with JOY.
    4 Restore our fortunes, O LORD, like streams in the Negev.
    5 Those who sow in tears will reap with songs of JOY.
    6 He who goes out weeping, carrying seed to sow, will return with songs of JOY, carrying sheaves with him.
    May LAUGHTER and JOY be yours this day my dear sister!

Leave a Reply

