What Does Stastny Mean?

     I knew what I wanted to name our dog before even getting her.  My father is Czech and he taught me the word for happiness in Czech is Stastny.  We rescued our dog from what could have been a terrible fate and she rescued us from ourselves. She taught us how to look beyond ourselves and appreciate the gifts, be they big or small, with which God has blessed us.  Happiness is what we feel when we are with her.  In a very short time period, Stastny has warmed our hearts.  Her charismatic personality, an interesting way of showing affection towards other dogs (Vladae the Russian Dog Wizard did wonders with her), and her unique desires have kept us on our toes.  We love her very much and welcome the lessons we have learned and will learn by God working through her.

     This Bible verse illustrate the type of love Garrett and I want to show each other, family, friends, and of course our Stastny (considered family):

1 Corinthians 13:4-7

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

Questions

 1.   What brings “happiness” to you?

 2.  What is your definition of love?

 3.  What role in life, does God play in terms of offering you happiness and love?

One thought on “What Does Stastny Mean?

  1. I love to please other people. It brings me joy to know that I said or did something to bring another happiness. I believe love is when you care for someone unconditionally. My Dad gives me opportunities to show love daily, and that makes me happy that He gives me opportunities to do so. What an awesome God we serve.

Leave a Reply

