God’s Invitation

“Faith is rest, not toil. It is the giving up all the former weary efforts to do or feel something good, in order to induce God to love and pardon; and the calm reception of the truth so long rejected, that God is not waiting for any such inducements, but loves and pardons of His own goodwill, and is showing that goodwill to any sinner who will come to Him on such a footing, casting away his own poor performances or goodnesses, and relying implicitly upon the free love of Him who so loved the world that He gave His only-begotten Son.”

Horatius Bonar

Questions: 
 1. How do you rest in the Lord?

 2. What invitation has God given you to rest in Him?

My response:
I am working on resting in the Lord. When I am able to have God time, I feel refreshed and excited to see what He will do in my life. God has invited me to rest in Him by adjusting my lifestyle to both hear and follow Him.

One thought on “God’s Invitation

  1. It’s pretty easy to rest in Christ. I just stop trying to do myself. When we let God do the work, I believe we make Him happy. He wants us to rely on Him in full faith; He’s a father, that’s part of what they do. He recently talked to me through someone else to resolve a conflict I had with another individual.

    Now me and that person are good friends where before we were anything but. All I did was let go and trusted in Him.

Leave a Reply

