Assurance in Christ

“Assurance grows by repeated conflict, by our repeated experimental proof of the Lord’s power and goodness to save; when we have been brought very low and helped, sorely wounded and healed, cast down and raised again, have given up all hope, and been suddenly snatched from danger, and placed in safety; and when these things have been repeated to us and in us a thousand times over, we begin to learn to trust simply to the word and power of God, beyond and against appearances: and this trust, when habitual and strong, bears the name of assurance; for even assurance has degrees.”

John Newton

Questions: 

1. Do you have assurance in God’s will for you?

2. What event in your life brought you to trust in God?

2 thoughts on “Assurance in Christ

  1. Lawrence,
    I am sorry that you had to experience all of that pain, but what an incredible way for God to bring you closer to Him! Thank you for your encouragement. You have a gift for that.

  2. I know if it’s God’s plan, it must be good. So, I would most definitely say I have assurance in His will. I remember when I was about 11 or so, and I used to wake up in excrutiating pain on a nightly basis (doctors never figured out what it was, henceforth, it went untreated). One night in particular was really bad.

    This time I actually ran to my mom, who I never really found comfort in. She told me to give to God. I remember making a deal with Him that night. I told Him if He would take away my suffering I would be His faithful follower for ever. I kid you not, as soon as I said amen, the pain stopped instantly. That was when I first officially accepted Him in my life. I’d known about Him before, but this was the real deal.

    I have yet to be plagued by that pain since. I now realize that the pain was part of God’s plan to bring me to Him and demonstrate His power to me. Evertime I come to Him in prayer I know He’s there. Isn’t it great to be in that family yourself. If you’re not you should really get there before it’s too late.

Leave a Reply

