When Life Hands You a Lemon…Make Lemon Chicken!

     Yes! My first cooking lesson was a success. Both Garrett and my dad were pleased with the lemon chicken (veggie and real) with mushrooms, basmati rice pilaf, green beans, and an incredible avocado salad.

     There are; however, some things I need to work on. For example, my mom smashes the garlic with a knife. It sounds easy–even Garrett can do it–but for some reason I am terrified of slicing the side of my hand. I had to wrap a paper towel around the knife in order to feel secure about slamming my palm down on it.

     I realized that my fear of smashing garlic with a dangerously sharp knife is similar to my fear of letting go and giving God control. I tend to worry about things that may seem utterly ridiculous, but they are very real in my mind.

    My mom has been cooking for over 30 years and, without thought, she is able to confidently smash the garlic with a slam of her palm. Not once has she sliced her hand. My mom’s confidence reminds me of God’s faithfulness. He has never let me down in my walk with Him. My prayer is to remember this.

Questions:
1. What constant reminders do you have of God’s faithfulness?

2. What fears hold you back from walking with God?

3. Who is in control of your life?

2 thoughts on “When Life Hands You a Lemon…Make Lemon Chicken!

  1. Misa, I am so proud of you! I want to learn how to cook. I will have to get my mom to teach me this summer. Hopefully, I will have time.

    You had me fooled! I thought you knew how to cook. I cannot wait to hear about the savory meals you and your mom will cook. Please share the recipes with all of us.

  2. Misa, I am so proud of you! I want to learn how to cook. I will have to get my mom to teach me this summer. Hopefully I
    will have time.

Leave a Reply

