Drawing Closer to God

“Prayer is surrender – surrender to the will of God and cooperation with that will. If I throw out a boat hook from the boat and catch hold of the shore and pull, do I pull the shore to me, or do I pull myself to the shore? Prayer is not pulling God to my will, but the aligning of my will to the will of God.”

Eli E. Stanley Jones

Question:

Are you pulling God toward you or are you drawing closer to Him?

One thought on “Drawing Closer to God

  1. I 100% agree with Jones’ quote. Too often I think we try to conform God to our desires and our will instead of the other way around. God is not a genie who is at our beck and call, fulfilling our every whim. He is God and we best be surrendering to His will for us. Good quote Michelle.

Leave a Reply

