“Go to Your Place!”

     My husband and I recently learned about the importance of creating a safe place for Stastny in our house.  I had always figured that Stastny preferred to choose her place in our home.  Our dog trainer explained to us, like humans, dogs need to have a place to rest and call their own.  Excited about the idea, we bought Stastny a soft pillow bed and placed it in the living room.  We invited her into the house, pointed to her bed, and told her, “Go to your place.”  Stastny wrestled with us and was not clear as to where her place was.  After constant redirection, accompanied by several treats and hugs, she realized that we had set aside a special place for her.

     Stastny taught me, too often we tend to look outside ourselves for God when we should be looking inward. Our place with God is in our hearts; the Holy Spirit lives within us.

1 John 4:16

“And so we know and rely on the love God has for us. God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him.”
 

Questions:

1.      Where is your place with God?

2.      Do you find it easier to stay in His place or make your  own place?

3.      If you choose to live in God’s place, what is keeping you there?

5 thoughts on ““Go to Your Place!”

  1. Wow! I absolutely love the poem. It’s unfortunate when we miss God’s touch on our lives. Thank you very much for sharing. “What keeps me in tune with God is God.” This is well said and very true.

    God bless, Michelle

  2. Response to Questions 1 and 2-
    I do not really think of it as God’s place and my place. I am more apt to see or feel God’s presence in some settings than others, but God is everywhere.

    Response to Question 3-
    What keeps me in tune with God is God. It is like a voice, sometimes loud, sometimes quietly present, which I read in your words as spirit. I have heard it described and far better than I can find the words, and to me, I do not need to define so much what it is, though it is probably natural to wish to clarify and organize thoughts. You remind me of a poem by an unknown author. It is called, “God, Are You Real?” See below if interested.

    Finally, it is in simple words that I write what is actually profound, but that God is infinitely wise, and I wish wisdom and love near, especially when overwhelmed by matters as simple sometimes as the news of the day.

    Your very authentic experiences with your dog remind me of other matters, such as animals like people need to feel safe. Stastny may have a few turns on the road to home, or bed, but that is sometimes where we learn the most, isn’t it? Here is the poem. OK to edit my response or poem for length, but it came to me, as it sometimes does.

    God, Are You Real?
    The child whispered, “God, speak to me”
    And a meadowlark sang.
    The child did not hear.
    So the child yelled, “God, speak to me!”
    And the thunder rolled across the sky
    But the child did not listen.

    The child looked around and said,
    “God let me see you” and a star shone brightly
    But the child did not notice
    And the child shouted,
    “God show me a miracle!”
    And a life was born but the child did not know.
    So the child cried out in despair,
    “Touch me God, and let me know you are here!”

    Whereupon God reached down
    And touched the child.
    But the child brushed the butterfly away
    And walked away unknowingly.

  3. Hey Misha,

    Good questions:

    1. My place, ultimately, is “obedience.” Wherever we are, whatever we’re doing, it’s ideally with the knowledge that God has placed us there at that time in that situation for His glory.

    2. It’s always easier to try and make my own, because obedience is costly. However, disobedience in a real, practical way is deadly.

    3. God keeps me there. I grow in knowledge of and passion for Christ as I am obedient to Him. I want the things that I want less, and the things He wants for me more.

  4. Steve, I could not agree more with you. Do you feel like God has taken you outside of the box? If so, how have you surrendered to God’s will?

  5. There is also the possibility that God’s place for us might be somewhere completely unexpected! Yes, God’s place is in us, but our place in God might be in a place we wouldn’t normally expect.

    I think God likes to take us outside our box sometimes, to teach us to rely more on Him than on ourselves.

Leave a Reply

