The Choice

     I chose the title Walking With God because this is my greatest struggle in life. I often find myself impatiently trying to walk ahead of God instead of with Him. My heart easily becomes anxious and fearful of the unknown. The picture above illustrates the choice we can make: to walk with God or choose our own path. May you walk with God and not stray from the path. Remember God is of infinite good.  

Romans 8:31

“What, then, shall we say in response to this? If God is for us, who can be against us?”  

QUESTIONS:

What does it mean to “walk with God”?

Do you find yourself sticking close to Him or do you have a tendency to stray from time to time?

How do you “walk with God”?

9 thoughts on “The Choice

  1. Congratulations on starting your new blog… I’ve been reading through some of your posts and don’t have time to answer any of your questions right now… but I’m putting you in my RSS reader so hopefully I can come back and start answering soon!

  2. Sandy,
    Your role in cheering me on has definitely inspired me to write this blog. I love you and am grateful to have you in my life!
    God bless.

  3. I’m really proud of you for getting this blog started, Misa! It’s a great way to hone your writing skills. You go, girl!

    Love,
    Sandy

  4. Hi Michelle,

    Thank you for the awesome message you left me about my blog site. I envy you because I tried so hard to figure out WordPress and just couldn’t navigate myself through the whole thing….a pity really since I do have ‘some’ computer knowledge.

    Congrats on opening and starting this new journey of yours with sharing the Lords word and being obedient in the ministry! 😀 You are a blessing to many around you as well as pleasing in the eyes of Him.

    Yes, I do have blog prayer requests, just 3 last I checked. If you go to my blog, on the right sidebar there is a photo of a military man on his knees. If you click on that link it will take you to where the 3 prayer requests are; actually I think two of those were mine…lol.

    Well praise God for your adventure. Sure I’ll share your blog with those I know. Do you have a blog ‘button’? If not I make them for free for my friends so if you’d like I can make a ‘grab’ button for your readers to copy the image code so they can put your site button on their sidebar….this usually creates people to visit them. Don’t know if you even know what a blog button is since you’re just starting out….let me know.

    By the way, just out of curiousity, may I ask how you learned/found my blog site? I just like to know this when I hear from someone knew.

    Well I am very blessed with your kind and sweet words. And again, right back at you for figuring out WordPress….that’s what really impresses me. Right now I am working on my Photography website, which of course is taking me FOREVER, but worth it if I want to appear professional. (sigh)

    Again, nice to ‘meet’ you my dear friend!

    In Him,

    Sarah Cecilia

  5. Greetings Misha,

    just wanted to stop by and say thank you for your kind words about 5ptsalt.com. It truly is an encouragement.

    Ironically, you’ve chosen the same wordpress theme I started out with!

    Now start writing!

    Joel

  6. Hey Misha!

    I am so glad you are putting your writing skills to good use! I know God is going to use you in a mighty way through your blog. You’ve picked a perfect topic, too. Our walk is all about choices… daily choices. I know I find when I give God first place, top priority in my day, that’s when I have the best of days. Not that everything falls into place, but that I can handle whatever comes my way.

    Thanks for allowing others to grow and be encouraged through your own walk. May God bless you GREATLY for giving this gift back to Him!!!

    Love you!
    Sheryl

    P.S. Can I be notified of new blogs automatically by email?

  7. I continue to feel inspired by your drive to write meaningful dialogue. Congratulations on your new blog.

    I hear “Walk with God” or “Go with God” and I need to hear these words every so often, lest I forget who I am in the world. God is everywhere. You remind me of a saying, not quite sure how it goes.

    “Don’t walk in front of me, I may not follow. Don’t walk behind me, I may not see. Walk beside me and be my friend.”

    This is not to make “light” about the Almighty, but God really is there walking with us, when we need Him and when we don’t realize we need Him so in some ways like a friend, yet so much more, being before us and supporting us from all angles. With clarity, we can be there for God, too, like when we find our life’s purposes and serve God.

    At first I experienced God very strongly walking next to me when my father died. Additionally, I felt God very near when I was seriously ill. “If I die, and God, I am scared, I know you will be there, so I think it will be OK. I trust you.” That is a great deal of trust in a tumultuous, busy world, where sometimes I wonder how I breathe at all. Some internal dialogue on that order, believing that God hears what is in our hearts, spoken or not. The fun times are when I feel God in positive moments, a few of them not even my own personal moments, like when someone graduates, overcomes obstacles, or has courage to do what is right, not what is necessarily popular or brings in the serious cash, though we all need to face some realities.

    When I heard today of a news story, which I will not raise not to go off on a tangent, but 700 people were injured and about 150 people died, and the people planned it on purpose, I know these individuals who did this were out of touch with God, and I wonder how this happens, that people become so out of touch that lives no longer matters. So, I pray for the injured, the survivors, those who died, and even those misguided who somehow thought this was what God wanted. I choose my focus, what I have control over, and God is there.

    Sometimes as a teacher, I advise students. I might be thinking, there is no way that this student will do what he or she is inquiring for information, and yet, I think who am I to judge when I am simply sharing what they may ultimately figure out for themselves, so I normally, but not always, share information that the student requests, let the student and God who also walks with him or her help that person to find what is God’s will for their lives, which is a relief, as I frequently have no idea how to help, or have thought I did, but I was mistaken. You know, once or twice. God has plans and miracles happen. God and I walk together and this is a good thing.

    H

  8. Glad to see your blog up and running!

    I’m constantly fighting with the human desire to “create my own path,” versus walking on the one God has created for me.

    It’s an age-old problem every human battles because we retreat to what we understand when we can’t grasp God’s eternal plan.

    Love you,

    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

